If I Could Turn Back Time

If I had a chance to relive a part of my life, it would definitely be the time when I was in elementary school. I was very mischievous as a kid and did some things that I regret. I’ve changed now and am a better person.

It all started back in the first grade. Pokemon/Yugioh cards were all the craze, and I would bring mine to school, to show/play with my friends. There was this one kid, I’ll call him Al, who was pretty obnoxious. Al once took one of these cards from me by force. Of course, at the end of the day, it was just a card but being a kid, it meant a lot to me. I never actually got that card back.

Anyways, later on in elementary school, I would do the same thing to others. I would, not take by force but even worse, steal from other kids – video game chips, yugioh cards, etc. And these kids were not just anyone but my “friends”. I always got caught in the end, as (I like to believe that) the truth/justice always prevails.

It got so bad that at one point (and the final time I ever stole) was when the parents of another “friend” said they would call the police if I didn’t return the games that I stole. And of course, the games were returned. It’s a long story, but eventually after a lot of pain and struggle and understanding, I got over this and there was no drama.

These days, I look back, and I really wish I hadn’t done these things as a kid. Of course, you can’t have everything in the world (or may not be able to afford it as was my case), but that’s never an excuse for stealing. Even if you had a bad experience. But at the same time, committing such acts made me learn over time. Now, I’m not even a video game fan; I hardly play, and there’s never been a desire to steal someone else’s belongings, no matter how much I wish I had it. It makes me happy to know that at least I’ve changed for the better and become a genuinely good person – or so I’d like to think.


If I Could Turn Back Time If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?
Leave a comment

Filed under Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

