Modern Families

If one of my late ancestors were to come back from the dead and join me for dinner, he would find the use of technology (obviously) and the dinner itself quite shocking.

I’m thinking of an ancestor back in the 19th century (who I don’t know). My family hails from the Indian subcontinent. This was during the time when countries in that region were under British rule.

All the different cultural foods we get to experience here in America, like Italian, Mexican, Asian, etc. would be completely new to my ancestor. At home, we usually have Indian food (rice and curry) but at times we like to eat out – pizza, pasta, lo mein, pad thai, burritos, etc.

I’m not certain, but I believe that back in the 1800s food was cooked using firewood, an outside stove, and pots/pans. So the use of ovens and stoves inside the house would be different. Plus, we sometimes have music playing in the house – this would be like magic to my ancestor, who probably would have only heard music played live, not streamed digitally.

Come to think of it, the one thing my ancestor would find most shocking is how “Americanized” my brother and I have become. Our style of clothing (sweatshirts, t-shirts, jogging pants, etc. vs. traditional wear) would definitely stand out. Also, we are not very fluent in our mother tongue, and speak English most of the time. He probably wouldn’t even be able to understand us!


Modern Families If one of your late ancestors were to come back from the dead and join you for dinner, what things about your family would this person find the most shocking?
Leave a comment

Filed under Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

