Sink or Swim

One recent memory comes to mind of when I was overwhelmed and had to fend for myself. It was in my job, working at a startup.

I had been promoted to a managerial position, just 8 months or so after joining the company. It was all really sudden, with no training or time to get up to speed (as is the case with most startups). I had to learn quickly and figure things out as I was quite inexperienced compared to the previous manager in my position.

It was definitely a stressful time for me, as I did not have much guidance in learning everything. A lot of it was self-taught with me making a ton of mistakes along the way. In times like those, you just hope that things don’t end up being so much for you that you leave what would be an amazing opportunity.

Well, I’m still in the position today so the good news is that I haven’t been fired! Although I have learned a lot and there is still a lot to learn. You never really stop learning in leadership – just keep learning, from your mistakes, from others, and from all types of situations. I think that attitude has helped me in being successful, even if I have made a lot of mistakes along the way.


Sink or Swim Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school. What was the outcome?
Leave a comment

Filed under Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

