Resolved

My new year’s resolution a couple years ago, when I was in my senior year of high school, was to exercise more consistently.

I was far from a fitness freak, and on many days avoided going to the gym. I saw it more as a task to be done instead of something I really wanted to do for my well-being and fitness. It definitely required external motivation from my family, especially my brother, before it changed to me being intrinsically motivated.

It was tough at beginning but I made sure I would at least go to the gym at my apartment complex and get going on the treadmill. At first, I would only go for 10 min., do a light jog and then leave. Then it increased to 15 min. and then 20 min., and my speed increased as well, to around 6 miles/hour.

It became a habit that I kept after I had a routine. Every weekday (or the days when I didn’t have any after school activities), after school, I would come home, rest for a bit, and then change into my exercise clothes and go to the gym.

On weekends, I would go with my brother who acted as a personal coach. He got me started on strength-training too. Yes, I first started lifting weights during senior year of high school, but better late than never.

Through this combination of cardio and strength-training, I became fitter and had more energy in general. I could feel the effects it had on me physically and mentally. I’m proud of my determination and persistence that year to exercise, which has paid off and continues to as my mindset towards exercising has changed.

This year, my resolution is to wake up early, something that I used to do back in high school but once college started it has been a real struggle. I’m aiming to wake up before 6:30 am, and then 6 am, and finally 5:30 am. The good thing is that I’ve got all year to reach that goal, so I’m taking it a day at a time and taking a small step everyday.


Resolved Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?
Leave a comment

Filed under Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

