Unpopular

When I first started attending college, I was – in hindsight – overly ambitious. Thinking big is good, but perhaps I could have taken the advice of my advisers and gone for an easier schedule than I went for in my first semester.

After some thought, I decided to pursue a double major. There were other students too who were as and even more ambitious than I was. And in a way, I was influenced by that – seeing others do so much made me want to do that.

The good thing was that I was motivated to work even harder. The flip side of the coin is that I was looking at what other people were doing and then trying to match their efforts, in some sense.

This backfired when my course load proved to be too much for me to handle. I had to make some tough decisions and really evaluate myself, and forget about what other people were doing.

In time, I realized that it was better for me to pursue a single major and then take classes that interested me in the other major that I had initially wanted to declare. It’s a much less popular option than double-majoring, which many students (note I say students and not employers) will tell you looks much more impressive in terms of getting a great offer post-graduation.

I came to this conclusion after one of my close friends told me how, despite being a Math major, he was taking CS classes and EE classes that interested him but had no plans in majoring in those fields. And what was most inspiring about that was he was a genius in those fields – and to see him not go for the major, which he would have excelled in and provided him with a nice “resume-booster” was eye-opening for me.


Unpopular Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.
2 Comments

Filed under Daily prompt

2 responses to “Unpopular

Leave a Reply

