Happy Endings

One thing I tried to quit to become healthier was soda – any such soft drinks including Cola, Pepsi, Mountain Dew, Dr. Pepper, Fanta, etc.

I wanted to really avoid sugar, so on 1/17/15 I went cold turkey and said no to any soda. I substituted milk and juice for this, which I still drink regularly.

This habit did stick, for a good 4 months, before I let myself relax a bit and drink a Dr. Pepper. In the “hacker culture”, sodas are the go-to drink, especially at a hackathon, and when the opportunity arises and everyone else around you is drinking a soda, it’s hard to resist.

In hindsight, I think that if I was really addicted to soda, then this habit would have definitely been tougher for me. But it really wasn’t that difficult to quit drinking soda, probably because I wasn’t too addicted to it – I would drink it maybe once a week at most before.

Nevertheless, I’m proud of my achievement. It’s not a habit anymore, but even so I rarely drink sodas nowadays – maybe once every 6 months. It really does no good for my body, so why drink it?


Happy Endings Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?
4 Comments

Filed under Daily prompt

4 responses to “Happy Endings

  1. I’m the same. I know how bad Diet Coke is, especially for my dentist’s bills, but I can’t help it. Weakness?

Leave a Reply

