New Sensation

I grew up with my mom choosing my clothes for me (and sometimes still does!) on what to wear for school. It would usually be a buttoned shirt or polo with dress pants. I never really liked the combination, as it made me look even more of a nerd than I already was.

Nowadays, I color-code what to wear. This may seem OCD/overly-obsessive, but it’s one less decision to make, and backed by science. For example, President Obama only wears gray or blue suits, because it’s one less decision for him to make; Mark Zuckerberg wears gray t-shirts (of course there are exceptions on some days). Both of them have to make a lot of decisions every day – having their clothes picked out is one less decision to make, allowing them to focus on the meaningful work to be done.

Over time, my “sense of fashion” has changed, as has my wardrobe (or closet, I guess). I wear t-shirts, polos, shirts, jeans, corduroys, and I even recently got a suit. There’s only so much you can do with clothes, for men at least, so I don’t think future trends will vary far from today’s.

Living in a laidback culture, I think in the future I would probably be going with casual wear (t-shirt and jeans) on everyday to work. Although your choice of clothing does define you in some ways, you shouldn’t let it take over your life and keep you up at night – hence I plan to follow what the successful have done and probably just stick to the same outfit everyday.


New Sensation Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.
Leave a comment

Filed under Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

