Fearless Fantasies

Fear is something that I experience a lot. As a typical introvert, I fear being judged by others, fear what will others think of me, fear that I will be seen in negative light.

I fear whenever I try something new – fear of failure mainly. Fear that I will not live up to my (and others’) expectations.

I think a lot of this fear, however, is self-made and really just a temporary emotion. If you let it take control of your life, it will. But you can overcome it.

If I were incapable of feeling fear, my life would definitely be much different than it is now, in a positive way. I would try so many different things, regardless of whether I was good or not at them, be outgoing and make new friends, and just be myself.

Writing this post makes me really ponder over why I haven’t been able to do these things and brings me back to a relevant quote.

Do one thing every day that scares you. – Eleanor Roosevelt

Perhaps this can be a new habit that I can work on in the future – of doing one thing everyday that scares me. I can name a few things off the top of my head: going for a run in the night (although I would make sure to be cautious about this for my own safety – no later than maybe 9pm), playing basketball with strangers (I’m no good at it), and going to the gym at a busy hour and lifting weights (I lift the lighter ones and just starting out). The last one is a fear of being judged though.

It’s not an overnight change, of going from introvert to extrovert, of letting go of all your fears. It’s something that you have to practice everyday, and something that I have been trying to. But I do believe that by making a more conscious effort, I can slowly let go of all my fears which in turn will lead to a better me.


Fearless Fantasies How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?
2 Comments

Filed under Daily prompt

2 responses to “Fearless Fantasies

  1. I too have become an introvert. I blame being moved to the middle of nowhere for my husband’s job and just not putting myself out there to really get to know anyone here. Not to mention that most women with kids my kids’ ages aren’t women but girls barely out of high school. I am visiting from the daily prompt.

    • Hi, thanks for visiting! I know what you mean, I’ve had to move around a lot too. I think the best way to “come out of your shell” is to do small things everyday, like just saying hi to strangers, having small chit-chat, which in turn, with your effort, can form meaningful relationships.

Leave a Reply

