Take Care

Being your typical introvert, I prefer solitude over socials. It helps me think and have some “me time”. Over time, my mindset has changed in regards to getting help.

A lot of the times that I’ve been unwell, I’ve been fortunate enough to have a great support system, in the form of family and friends. Growing up as a kid, through elementary, middle, and high school, I always hated missing school, much different from other kids who would gladly take a day off and have a record of truancy to show off.

When I did miss school, it was not just for my health, but for others’ benefit too, so they wouldn’t get sick because of my contagious sickness. For example, I once had typhoid fever, and missed a whole month of school! It didn’t affect my academics a whole lot in the end, but still.

During times like those, I loved being taken care of. Being given warm soup/meals, a nice book to read, and of course, the luxury of sleeping all day is paradise! And friends coming over to make sure I was doing alright was nice too, so I could catch up on what was happening at school, without even being there.

When college started, I was naturally homesick, and literally sick too. My mom wasn’t next to me all the time anymore, telling me to drink this, eat that, sleep and rest, etc. She would of course call regularly and make sure that I was getting better but ultimately I had to take responsibility for my academics and my health.

Over the years, I’ve learned the best thing to do is to ask for help – when you’re sick, when you’re struggling, or even when you think you need it. I was too shy before to ask for help or be open about things, preferring to do things myself and try to soldier along. But now I realize that there’s nothing really to be embarrassed about, and it’s important to have a good support system. Whether it’s becoming healthier, succeeding in school or career, I know that I have a good support system whom I can and should rely on.


Take Care When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?
Leave a comment

Filed under Daily prompt

Leave a Reply

