Habit update 4 – code everyday

It’s November! And it’s always nice to get an extra hour of sleep/work in. 🙂

Well, my streak came to an end. Hopefully a stepping stone I can use to learn from for next time.

I coded everyday of this past week, except Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Strange, huh, for an aspiring computer scientist to go 3 days without coding. This is exactly what I didn’t want, the reason why I started this habit. My fears were realized – when midterms for other classes came around, I knew I would put off coding.

I had a Math midterm on Thursday, leading me to skip those 3 days in preparation. In addition, my core CS class and other web development duties didn’t have any deadlines, so really, I had the option to not do anything but study Math. And unfortunately (or fortunately?), I chose that option.

Now, truth be told, I did not spend every single minute of those three days doing Math. There were times I would procrastinate, times I did not want to do Math and did other things instead. It’s normal – it was unrealistic to say “I’m going to study for this midterm and do nothing else over the next 3 days”. However, I could have used those times to code instead, to “productively procrastinate”, and in the process still be happy with myself and my progress. And of course, I could have kept my streak going.

Nevertheless, I will not be bogged down by this one “failure” and instead see what I can do next time. My plan is to plan each week out in advance (something I used to do meticulously but not so much recently), and make at least 1 hour of time for coding everyday. That way, when it’s time to code, I’ll do it, instead of putting it off for later.

Time to get back on track.

So far:

  • Total: 21/24 days
  • Current streak: 4 days
  • Longest streak: 17 days
Leave a comment

Filed under Habits

Leave a Reply

