Habit update 1 – Code everyday

My new habit has gone pretty well so far. I have done this habit for 3 days in a row now, starting on 10/9. Keeping it at a minimum of 30 minutes has helped me, although I end up coding for much longer.

Time coding includes (1) thinking about how to solve the problem (which is where the majority of the time goes for any programmer, regardless of your experience), (2) learning new things that I’m stuck on, and (3) reading and practicing through problems in Cracking the Coding Interview by Gayle McDowell.

Something I also want to inculcate into my daily routine is visualization. Visualizing my success early in the morning, and before I go to bed. After hearing many successful sportsmen use this technique, I’m motivated to try it out myself.

Some examples of what I hope to visualize:

  • getting straight A’s this semester and the journey up to that
  • studying for hours, without getting distracted
    • this is pretty general, but specifically I would like to visualize doing practice problems, reading through (dry) math textbooks and doing a research paper that’s coming up.
  • coding for hours on end, getting past the obstacles and challenges I face in the process through resources like StackOverflow and asking for help on online forums
  • my code itself and exactly what the final product will look like
  • understanding concepts deeply, being able to answer questions in lecture & discussion, and teaching those concepts to my friends

and many other goals, even daily things like going to lecture, going to breakfast and so on.

I hope to write a post on this topic sometime in the future, so stay tuned! I’m a novice at this of course, but of course I hope to become better over time with practice.

In addition, to keep me motivated and to sort of “gamify” my experience, I’ve decided to include a small chart below which will show my progress. I’m off to a good start, now the key is to keep the momentum going.

So far:

  • Total 3/3 days
  • Current streak 3 days
  • Longest streak 3 days
Leave a comment

Filed under Habits

Leave a Reply

