Time flies

I can’t believe it has been nearly a month since my last blog post. The summer has gone by faster than I wanted it to, but that’s the reality of not fully living in the present.

Work has been tough, and on many days over the last month or two, I have been running on ~5 hours of sleep. And then I burn out. And then repeat. During this process, it has been difficult to do the things I want to do, to simply enjoy my summer.

I want to share a passage* from a book I am reading, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. It’s about living in the present.

The camel driver, though, seemed not to be very concerned with the threat of war.

“I’m alive,” he said to the boy, as they ate a bunch of dates one night, with no fires and no moon. “When I’m eating, that’s all I think about. If I’m on the march, I just concentrate on marching. If I have to fight, it will be just as good a day to die as any other.

“Because I don’t live in either my past or my future. I’m interested only in the present. If you can concentrate always on the present, you’ll be a happy man. You’ll see that there is life in the desert, that there are stars in the heavens, and that tribesmen fight because they are part of the human race. Life will be a party for you, a grand festival, because life is the moment we’re living right now.”

Wow. So deep. And it comes at a time when I’m struggling with living in the present.

Keep things simple. When you eat, eat. When you sleep, sleep. When you learn, learn. When you write, write. Multitasking is paradoxically detrimental to getting many things done. Focusing on one thing at a time leads to success. So this is the mentality I am working on: focus on one thing at a time. My body, mind and soul should be living each moment in unison.

It’s incredible the progress you make when you fully devote yourself to something. Many times, I make plans to study for hours. In the end, I may only study for a couple, maybe even only one hour. But I’ve realized that during that one hour, since that’s all I’m focusing on, without a care in the world about what’s going on around me, I am able to grasp concepts and key points much quicker and easier than if I let my mind roam and got distracted every few minutes.

I guess it’s really true: when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it (also from The Alchemist).

EDIT: Just noticed I started this blog on August 14, 2013. It’s been more than 2 years already! What an apt title for this post 🙂

*Source: The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, pages 87-88

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

