Another accountability test

It’s been a long time since I posted on Zenblogged. Now as a college student, I know what busy truly means. Or maybe not.

The last 3 months have been hectic and a period of soul-searching. Before I started college, I was (overly) ambitious. I wanted to take more than the number of units recommended (13-15, I’m taking 17), I wanted to get involved with clubs but keep a limit (just involved with 2 currently), and I wanted to maintain a 4.0 GPA. While getting enough sleep and having a decent social life.

And then reality struck.

The truth is, I don’t think any amount of preparation would have prepared me for an experience like this. I spent hours studying for both of my first midterms, which happened to fall on the same day, and I failed them both. That prompted a change in my mindset. It’s no longer about the number of units I take but whether I am able to do well in the classes I take. I’m not too concerned about my GPA either, since it’ll take care of itself.

Anyhow, my last accountability test went wayward and I just couldn’t keep the tempo going (the language I wanted to learn was Spanish by the way). I really lost all the motivation to learn a language and instead rationalized as “taking a break, especially since it’s summer”. That was a big mistake, something I will not commit again. Summers are intended for a student to enjoy and take a break, but not just sleeping, eating, watching movies, and playing games.

So here I have another accountability test, something which I think will be easier. I will read 15 pages of a book (preferably a novel) everyday until I run out of books, which shouldn’t happen when I have the luxury of libraries. This potentially means that I never plan to stop reading, but it’s something I love (and it’s good for me) so why stop?

I will update this page every Sunday, starting this Sunday, 11/30/14, on how I’m doing. Currently, I’m reading Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. Over the past few days, I have been reading before I go to sleep (which has been around 1:30 am) but I plan to read first thing in the morning. Here we go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Habits

Leave a Reply

