An update – March 2014

Long time no post!

It’s been a busy two months since I’ve posted, and a huge learning experience. I think I’ve been more productive with the start of this year and have made changes for the better, like eating healthier, going to the gym more often, getting work done, etc.

Despite this, I did not find time to post at all in February. Which makes me disappointed because I truly believe in consistency. 

Anyhow, my experiment with “30 days of getting results” was a learning process. I would read the article for the day, then do the objectives, then focus on being productive. The thing is, is that I was not that productive throughout itself. And I’ll be honest: I did not (and still haven’t) finish the 30 days, I got to 26 and then forgot about it. And I’m not going to go back to it either.

What I’ve learned is that there is not one sure way to be productive, there are certain ways that work for some and some ways that don’t. As a student, I’m at school most of the day on the weekdays and when I come home, it’s homework time. I don’t really think about anything else. I’ll admit, I do get distracted at times and don’t feel like doing anything. But I kind of force myself to do the homework and get it over with. As a huge fan of Nike, their slogan “Just do it” is something that is so simple yet so hard to follow. “30 days of getting results” was interesting, but I can’t say it made me super-productive. 

OK, now back to the present. I downloaded this app called “Lift”, a habit recording tool. It’s simple, free and motivating. I think everyone who looks to build habits should get this app. I started the new year off with habits like go to gym, read, no junk food, no sweets, drink more water and take multivitamin. As you can see, almost all of these habits are simple and seem that way too. Which is why I started off with them, because I wanted to start of small. Then I got to habits like learn Spanish, meditate, study biology. All I can say is that I’ve been more productive because of Lift.

Recently, I downloaded the Pocket app. Although I had heard of this popular app quite a while ago, I didn’t sign up. Because I thought that it was just another social-media type website. But it’s not, and it’s been really helpful. I send anything that I want to read later or see later to Pocket, and when I have time I do so. It’s really cool.

And I’ve started to let go of things I can’t control. I’m reading Epictetus’ book, Encheiridion: The Manual for Living. There’s this one philosophy of Epictetus that I really like:

“Seek not that the things which happen should happen as you wish; but wish the things which happen to be as they are, and you will have a tranquil flow of life.”

Amazing. With college decisions coming up, I feel that this is a philosophy that I should follow and practice. I think this applies everywhere in life: when you’re stuck in traffic, when you’ve been laid off, when your car breaks down, when the weather prevents you from an important task, etc. There are some factors which aren’t in our control, and as Epictetus says, we must just let them happen.

Well that’s about how much I’m going to rant for now. I just blog whenever I want to, to be honest, no real schedule.Goodbye!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

