Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect?

This is a post in response to the daily prompt: Practice makes perfect?

There are many desires and unfilled wishes that I have, which I ardently hope to acquire sometime in the future. If I lived my life like Steve Jobs told us to, then I would have taken my violin lessons a bit more seriously, which I started a few years ago and then stopped.

But the past is past. Now nearly 18, it is considered late to start learning a new instrument, by many musicians and teachers. Better late than never, though.

In the book Outliers: The Story of Success, Malcolm Gladwell says that it takes 10,000 hours of practice to “perfect” a skill – although a skill can never be perfected, for we are always learning.

10,000 hours. 1 hour a day, 365 days a week, and it would still take me 27 years and 145 days to complete. Which means if I start when I’m 18, I would have “perfected” the skill of playing the elegant, classy violin when I’m nearly 46 years old.

2 hours a day, 365 days a week. 13 years and 255 days. Somewhat practical.

My Incomplete Musical “Career”

As a young boy, in elementary school, I went for vocal lessons on a weekly basis for nearly 3 years and was doing well (in my definition) before financial problems prevented going to lessons, and I too lost interest in singing. In the 6th grade, in the school band, I got the chance to play the alto saxophone for a whole year. As you may guess, I was excited at the beginning and slowly forgot about it, to the point where I hardly even practiced and was not a successful saxophonist.

Then in the 7th & 8th grades, I got a chance to play the keyboard & violin – I did not practice and played for fun, thus this too became incomplete. A few years later, I think about what I have really achieved in the musical field – nothing of significance.

Therefore, if there’s anything that I really desire and want to accomplish, something that I will work hard for and practice, it would be learning to play the violin.

7 Comments

Filed under Daily prompt

7 responses to “Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Drawing and Painting | Sogna Grandezza

  3. It is never too late. You may not become a concert violinist, but you could become accomplished enough to play for your own pleasure. Do you desire this ability for the joy of it or for public recognition?

    My daughter recently introduced me to the violin music of Lindsey Stirling (check YouTube). Watching her videos, she seems to be playing for the joy it brings her. You can do that.

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Yes, this desire is there within me to play for my own pleasure, but I think public recognition also plays a part.

      I will check out the videos that you told me about it. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: The Talent I Don’t Have :/ | The Arkside of Thought

  5. Pingback: Talents | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Do I really wish for talent? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

